The Schnoodle got Stuck…..

So Saturday we were heading up to Ellsworth to visit with friends….and I thought, “Why…I should take Stella to the dog park to WEAR HER OUT before we load her into the car for a 3 hour car ride.”  Genius right?????

We go to the dog park.  It had been rainy the day before…the ground was still a little wet.  There were only three other people there with dogs….and “The Kid” was there.  “The Kid” belongs to a mom and dog that we see at the park on a pretty regular basis.  She’s a friendly kid…loves dogs…BUT…and I warn you here is where my OCD goes off the charts.  Here’s a photo of “The Kid” on a different day a few weeks ago…

Here she is....LAYING ON THE GROUND of the dog park.

Here she is....LAYING ON THE GROUND of the dog park.

Does this photo make anyone else’s skin crawl or make them want to dump that kid in a tub of bleach and scrub her with a wire brush?  Ick!  It’s not a beach….it’s not a sandbox….it’s a dog park….where hundreds of dogs pee and poop all week long!  She LAYS ON THE GROUND!  She sits on the ground and runs her hands thru the sand like she’s on a beach in the Caribbean.   I can barely look while she rolls around on the ground with the dogs…then touches her face….hair….EEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

So back to Stella.  Stella finds a few friends to trot around the park with.  She’s having fun.  I watch one of the dogs roll in a mud puddle…and then roll through the dirt….watch the Dog Dad hang his head and probably silently wish he had a guinea pig instead of a dog that day.

I look at my watch and wonder if I should bring Stella home….she starts doing her crazy run with another pup…I decide to let her have a few more minutes of playtime, and there was my mistake.

She loves to run up into the wooded area and then come racing down the hill and onto the small grassy area with a dog chasing her.  Today….she came out of the wooded area….across the grass…and then immediately started grinding her face into the gravel and dirt.  What?  I start heading for her to see what’s she’s doing….and find this……

She had run straight through some prickly brushy stuff and gotten it all caught in her hair!

She had run straight through some prickly brushy stuff and gotten it all caught in her hair!

Im lucky she didnt get any in her eyes.....but it was inside her ears....all in her face....and on random spots on her body.

I'm lucky she didn't get any in her eyes.....but it was inside her ears....all in her face....and on random spots on her body.

Has your dog ever gotten into this stuff?  There is no way to get it out….except for cutting it out.  I loaded her into the car and held tightly to her leash so she wouldn’t try to grind her head on the seats and get anything in her eyes.  I called Papa on the cellphone and asked him to get the scissors and brush ready.  She would also need a bath….and I had to do all of this in 1/2 an hour so that we could load her into the car and drive for three hours.

On this day I WAS like Edward Scissorhands……I got the scissors and just started hacking away…..I had to clip her cute little beard….

Cute little beard before.....

Cute little beard before.....

I had to trim hair from inside and around her ears….her tail…her leg…and a couple of spots on her body.  Then…with all icky sticky things gone….I wrassled her into the tub and gave her a quick bath.   We went as fast as we could and 45 min later we loaded our green apple smelling puppeh into the car.

Annndddd then I got looking at what I had done…….I did have three hours to inspect my work….

Her beard is gone.....her hair is shorter around her ears.....

Her beard is gone.....her hair is shorter around her ears.....

And I went a little too short in this spot......thats what I get for hurrying.  Sorry Stella.

And I went a little too short in this spot......that's what I get for hurrying. Sorry Stella.

We both survived the trauma….Mama was thankful she didn’t get it in her eyes……..and we had a wonderful weekend up north.

Tomorrow….Mama will have to get out the clippers and scissors and see if I can give her a better haircut.

4 Comments

Filed under Funny

4 responses to “The Schnoodle got Stuck…..

  1. Oh no!

    Gatsby got into the exact same thing a few days ago, it was awful! Not as bad as Stella’s but he had five in his beard. They were so bad he couldn’t open his mouth all the way. I didn’t trust myself to cut them out, Gatz isn’t very good about sitting still, so I had to rip hair away from them in chunks. It took forever because he wasn’t a big fan of that either.

    I’ve bee thinking about getting a set of clippers and trying to groom my schnauzer myself, how do you get Stella to sit still and be a good girl for her face?

    • luvflamingos

      Poor Gatsby! Stella was a mess! I was so happy it didn’t get in her little eyes. She’s pretty good…..I sit her down….give her lots of treats and tell her what a good girl she is. I think she was tired enough from the running around to let me do whatever I wanted.

      I did get clippers…..and she’s doing well with that too. I just need a little more practice!!!!

  2. Fred

    Thistles my dear sister. You can brush them out. Its called “tough love”.
    When Zeke used to get these I would sit down with him and use my fingers to break them up and pull them out. You can get all the big chunks that way. If your hands are to delicate try using latex gloves so you wont get stung. Once you get most of the big bristles out you can brush out the smaller stuff and eventually switch to a comb.
    You may have to wait til the dog is too tired to struggle with you or get Pappa to hold her down. Zeke loved to be rubbed no matter what so he enjoyed the interaction anyway.
    Good luck. This is the time of year they are dried up and with stick to damn near anything. You know this is where the Scottsman got the idea for velcro don’t you?

Leave a Reply

