Another First for Stella the Schnoodle!!!!!

Did your Mom ever cut your hair as a kid?

Mine Did.

Mine Did.


Or did you ever cut it yourself???

Or did you ever cut it yourself???

You can understand why Stella would be a little apprehensive about me cutting her hair.  In an effort to save a little $$$…Mama decided to give “Home Grooming” a try today.

Who Wants a Haircut?

Who Wants a Haircut?


Not me Mama! (Schnoodle shakes her head)

"Not me Mama!" (Schnoodle shakes her head)


Im sure Papa doesnt want you to do this Mama.

"I'm sure Papa doesn't want you to do this Mama."


Stellas looking a little Shaggy lately.

Stella's looking a little Shaggy lately.

Her feet look HUGE, but its just all hair.

Her feet look HUGE, but it's just all hair.

So here we go.......

So here we go.......

I felt a little like Edward Scissorhands (one of my favorite movies-See VodPod box to the right!)!  Since I didn’t have a proper table, Stella opted for laying down on the kitchen floor.  I spun her around….flipped her on her side….fed her treats and praise, praise, praised her!!!  I’m not even sure how long it took….all I know is that I was covered in Schnoodle hair…and Stella was not.

It doesnt look like much......

It doesn't look like much......


But it was.....ooooohhhhh...it was!

But it was.....ooooohhhhh...it was!


There was even some of her cute little white chest hair.

There was even some of her cute little white chest hair.


I think Mama did a pretty good job!!!!

I think Mama did a pretty good job!!!!


Welll....maybe not so much on her legs...that can be fixed.

Welll....maybe not so much on her legs...that can be fixed.


And maybe I went a little too short in some spots....and a little too long in others.

And maybe I went a little too short in some spots....and a little too long in others.


I think I did a good job on her chest/tummeh area!

I think I did a good job on her chest/tummeh area!


As promised....I took her to the Dog Park afterwards....and then she got a Chewey.

As promised....I took her to the Dog Park afterwards....and then she got a Chewey.


And Mama had a well earned frosty cold adult beverage!!!

And Mama had a well earned frosty cold adult beverage!!!

I think….given it was my first attempt….all turned out pretty well.  Tomorrow I’ll get Papa to help me while I trim up around her cute little face…and try to straighten out the hair on her legs and feet.  All in all Stella…..I think you turned out beautiful….it could have been worse.

A Camel?  Really?
A Camel? Really?
Stella could rock this cut!!!!!

Stella could rock this cut!!!!!

I’ll post more photos after I’ve got her all trimmed up tomorrow.

7 Comments

Filed under About Stella

7 responses to “Another First for Stella the Schnoodle!!!!!

  1. great story and pics – loved it, you did a great job at grooming! better than i could have done ! x

  2. Chris2fer

    The picture labeled So Here We Go?… It looks like you shaved off her tail. Woops!
    🙂

  3. Milo's mom

    Very funny! Made me feel so much better about the cut I gave my little schnoodle boy today!
    Thank you!

  4. Ha ha ha! You are brave ! My Stella would not have stood for it You did a good job!

  5. Tonja

    Oh, I am not alone in grooming schnoodle Oma to save money! Her hair is so hard to cut and it never turns out well. I usually end up shaving her and she does not like it because I think she likes her cuddly hair. But you did much better!

  6. I’ll be attempting another home haircut on Stella this weekend…but shhhhhhh…don’t tell her!!!

Leave a comment